Why are there 7 colors in the rainbow?

There are seven colours of the rainbow. Isaac Newton originally divided the spectrum into five main colours – red, yellow, green, blue and violet – in 1672 but later added orange and indigo to make seven.

visual spectrum

In common with the Ancient Greeks he believed there was a connection between the number of colours in the spectrum and the number of days in the week, the number of notes in a musical scale and the number of objects then known in the solar system.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Our Guarantee

We stand behind our products and offer a 30 day money back guarantee if you are not satisfied.

Shipping Options

Free Shipping on orders above $149 in Canada, $199 for USA.